The Promised Land.

Past these gates of suffering, lies the promised land
the barrings I shall open, by the strength of Gods hand.
Greener more than Babylon, neigh is our Lords plan
far from our dear avarice, but not from wealths divan.
Too long have we paid worship, unto false deities
losing our freedom in ignorance, and falacious gaiety.
I prayed to a god unanswering, wept on a wall unspeaking
gazed at stars unliving, while holding my soul sans keeping,
sauntered on a path unending, yearning for days at an end
still every bad moon waning, a black sun it did send.
In the lifeless fields I travel, my road this sea of sand
but the desert rose I shall see, in gold a scarlet brand.
Beneath this scalding hatred, our memories my sojourn
the affectation of lazarus, from death unto me life return.
Past this mortal confine, envision the liberation grand
take this soul thus desperate, to dream the promised land.

7 thoughts on “The Promised Land.

  1. song Muhammad Hassan Miraj

    >________________________________ > From: Poems & People >To: hassan1657@yahoo.com >Sent: Thursday, September 19, 2013 5:39 PM >Subject: [New post] The Promised Land. > > > > WordPress.com >poemsandpeople posted: “Past these gates of suffering, lies the promised landthe barrings I shall open, by the strength of Gods hand.Greener more than Babylon, neigh is our Lords planfar from our dear avarice, but not from wealths divan.Too long have we paid worship, unto false ” >

    1. I’m terribly sorry sir I never got around to writing to you what you asked of me, I have been terribly engaged with activities other than those I wish to partake. If you deem this work suitable for that objective, please feel free to use it, or do convey whether I should send you this or something else via email.

Leave a Reply

