A Ballet Of Frozen Dreams.

Fading slowly into the subtle embrace of solitude,
escaping what life is. What it could be, my refuge.
A final draw of breath before drowning in my sleep,
ambiguity prevails, but lucidity eventually creeps.
I dream a little dream, so vivid and clear,
of someone I know, so darling and dear.
Behold the blinding white, everywhere I see
a frozen lake in darkness, yes dreaming I must be,
but on this frigid canvas, a lonely flame is she,
a ballet dancer moving, and curious it makes me.
How raven is her hair, deeper than the night,
and fair as snow herself, clear as can be white.
Her motions merry vivacious, but her eyes gloomy grey,
and the facade she keeps us, with a passion I must say.
A dance of the ages, or perhaps an ode to my life,
stoic it does seem, all these smiles to hide the strife.
The hanging sword of Damocles, not the intent but the end
and the final act it seems, is a wound unable to mend.
Entranced by this performance, I await applause despite
the darkness our only audience, the night our only respite.
I catch a glimpse of fancy, and that I misconstrue,
a love for all the reasons, not a singe of it is true,
my heart, it paces on, and so does the swan lake peak,
a symphony that never ends, and an end I never seek.
The close is drawing neigh, and so she finally stops
the music no more, no more the dance, and Alas! the tear it drops.
A frail hand protrudes, grasping the abyss asking now
a hand for a hand to help her up, and accompany her in a bow,
celeritous I do run, and hope to catch her grace,
hope to hold her hand, hope to see her face.
Out of nowhere and the deep, a lurking shadow there
comes to help her to her feet, need more to speak I dare?
Nay! for then she walks, and fades into the mist,
my friend my one true misery, loneliness my gist.
Here I stand solitary, between nowhere and goodbye,
as good a place as any to fall, whither and die.
I may still have my destiny, I may still have my fate,
but a life to lead without you, is a life that I shall hate.
With that my dream, it ends, and Lo! a painful wake
lifeless walls to see, and breathing for breathings sake,
my friend if ever you dream, a dream of a frozen lake
be sure to tell that woman, I died of a heart ache.
They buried me under the ice, and frozen I would be,
if not for your dancing memory, the dance that I still see.

21 thoughts on “A Ballet Of Frozen Dreams.

  1. The ice has thawed, she’s come
    visiting you in a swirling mist
    Warming your unfrozen self
    Leading away to an eternal dance šŸ™‚

    Hope you don’t mind my lame reply to such a touching tale, but I couldn’t help myself.

    PS: Thanks for the follow. And I can;t wait to read more šŸ™‚

  2. This one blew me away! Beautiful would be too small a word to describe it!
    my friend if ever you dream, a dream of a frozen lake
    be sure to tell that woman, I died of a heart ache.
    They buried me under the ice, and frozen I would be,
    if not for your dancing memory, the dance that I still see.

Leave a Reply

