Let Me Go.

Let me go, my dear beloved
I leave you with these parting words,
wealthier now than before we met,
more hopeful than the day we begun.
What lies ahead, I am unaware of,
but surely it can not surpass
in brightness, the day we dreamed,
in lucidity, our innocent hopes,
in taste, the bread of yearning,
in warmth, the fireplace small depleting,
in color, the wine drops running hastily
upon our goblets old yet priceless.
All I am sure of, is I am sure of nothing,
what lies in wait for me in the dark,
but of all the suns spent carelessly
and your gentle touch in the morning,
I regret nothing, my love, I regret nothing.
Let me go, for the heavens hold
the dear departed in sweet embrace,
but rest assured not nearly sweet,
not nearly sweet as yours my love.

52 thoughts on “Let Me Go.

  1. all gems are flawed my friend…even the most exquisite and polished ones and sometimes it’s those in the rough that shine brightest…I enjoyed this poem very much

  2. I’ve written a LOT over the years that I didn’t consider my “best” work that others LOVE!
    Ya never know.
    Nonetheless, we write.
    If nothing else, it’s discipline – it’s practice – working through how to say a thing!
    (But, you already know all this!)

      1. if’n ya gotta copy of Eliot’s Four Quartets handy, read the first half of section V of “East Coker”. “For us there is only the trying, the rest is not our business.”

  3. Even tho this is a sad peom, it gives out such a nice rhytm. It is overflowing with emotion, but at the same time at some moments sounds like a lulaby. You say it is not your best work, but I enjoyed reading it very much and thank you for that.

  4. The lines through the middle of the poem e.g. in brightness, etc. really catapult this poem along with some sharp lines. Sort of giving live to a sad poem … beautifully written and very emotional (sometimes where our best work comes from … when least expected). Thanks for sharing.

  5. Thank you for introducing yourself to me by visiting my blog. I read your latest work, you’re very talented, my humble opinion. I look forward to receiving future blogs from you. Blessings on your day.

  6. I just wanted to thank you for stopping by my blog recently so that I could find yours. I’m terribly behind in my reading as my mother is very ill thus my online time is very limited. You write beautifully…. I also tend to write melancholy quite frequently. I think you’ve done some really amazing writing here! Keep up the good work! 😀

    1. You’re welcome Keli, that is your name is it not? And I am glad you did, you need not explain yourself to me, it is kind enough of you to praise me as it is. Melancholy is what connects the broken, would you not agree? Regardless, I am overwhelmed with your lauding words, and I pray as well as hope that your mother gets well, give her the regards of a stranger, I am told unseen shadows can feign love as well.
      Regards,
      Osama Iftikhar

Leave a Reply

