Lucifer in Jerusalem

God has not summoned me, nor have the heavens,
but as prisoner of providence, I gather my will,
for the path to Jerusalem and the kingdom therein
is sodden with tears of generations still,
leave I, my refuge, for it remains no more,
memories of eternal dreams, dust in the wind
shattered goblets lamenting ‘neath my steps sore,
wine trembling in blood, a scarlet sans rescind,
par the threshold of home that stands in ruin,
guarding, attending to phantoms of reigns,
droops the velvet once our whispers blew in,
while joy melancholy faithlessly feigns,
slumbers closure thus upon my waking bed
betwixt the cast folds of this silent day,
and I the breathing, now living nor dead
servile to God nor man this way,
gait of a blind man, blinded by abhorrence,
lost to the journey from Jericho to here,
“Jerusalem must burn”, my tongued remonstrance,
Arab or Jew, less I could not care
Lo! Yonder stands the blood tainted dome,
Jerusalem is burning! Jerusalem is burning!,
I feel like Lucifer, who is already at home,
then his feet are turning, thus my feet are turning

25 thoughts on “Lucifer in Jerusalem

  1. “What if Lucifer were to walk to Jerusalem to set it on fire, would it be so different than how it is now? Are we not responsible for sacrilege in the name of religion ourselves? And is a man burning in the fire of hatred so different from Satan himself?”

      1. “Is Paris Burning” is an old movie that ends with another satanic figure on the phone inquiring whether or not Paris is burning. An allusion, nothing more, since you appeared to be asking about man’s role in hellish things.

  2. my bible is a little dusty and my memory is a little rusty but if I remember Satan like God use people as instruments…so by his hand though our hand…very very well written…enjoyed very much

    1. Firstly, thank you, and Secondly, that is the point to which I am alluding, it is the transmogrification of the former to the latter, and its analogy with the transformation of man owing to his circumstances that I wish to underline. Thank you for noticing that, it is an honor to know that people are reading my work so thoroughly and venturing to question it.
      Regards
      Osama Iftikhar

  3. A mathematician named Kurt Gödel once remarked: ” There is nothing inherently wrong with religion, except that it involves humans” to which I might append: ” and thus by nature is it made worse.” Mans willingness to kill, maim, or otherwise traumatize his fellow man in the name of ANYTHING ( science is no better than religion here, however you may debate it) is so very unsettling. Of course by nature it has a reason: it’s because our primary reasoning for existence is questioning why. If humans can’t explore they can’t ask why. If we can’t explore new continents, we must explore the body, then the mind, the soul – that failing we must create babies – that failing… you have the violence of contempt: thy god is less than mine – and so forth into infinity.

    I will admit my survey of your piece is a bit more prosaic than my normal celandine-damascene response; it’s very analytical and prosaic but that’s because your piece is so provocative.

    There were two lines that rose out above all ( and usually this is the case with any substantial work of literature, the power of a few lines makes the entire piece less profound by comparison. ) Anyway, the lines were:

    “droops the velvet once our whispers blew in,
    while joy melancholy faithlessly feigns”

    My immediate thoughts were that here – here you briefly breathed in the grandeur of Shelley and exhaled with Keats voice. My first thoughts were: ” bloody brilliant.” It was a hint at something more profound; perhaps it’s insight into the complexity of your own character – for the way we use words are ready vehicles explaining the transparency of our own faces.

    I’m reminded of about a half dozen things off those lines alone, but as time is a necessity that bears with her the bitter fruit of urgency – I simply don’t have the time to write with fullness the response I wanted to.

    Sadly I have to stop here, but I very much enjoyed the voice of the piece!

    1. As far as the premise of your comment goes, I applaud you for writing a response exhaustive but thorough in the least. I will not broach upon the intricacies of Kurt Godel’s quotation for minds far superior to ours have been left thoughtless in the wake of their paradigms. I do agree that it is indeed mankind’s thirst of self approval which leads it to quench that thirst with the blood of the uninvolved, be it mankind itself.
      I must also occupy some text thanking you for the kind words, whether they were two lines or two words, the fact that you deemed them worthy of your praise is praise absolute for me. And yet it is unfortunate that time does not permit us to express our thoughts as freely as we may want to. I thank you and hope that if and when time permits you to write what you wish, write to me as well.

      Regards,
      Osama Iftikhar

Leave a Reply

